State wage law data 2026

Tipped Minimum Wage by State (2026): Cash Wage and Maximum Tip Credit

By ClauseAudit Research · 7 sources ·

What is the tipped minimum wage by state?

The tipped minimum cash wage runs from the federal $2.13 an hour, used in 16 states, to $17.13 in Washington. Seven states allow no tip credit at all, so tipped workers there earn the full state minimum before tips. Everywhere else, tips plus the cash wage must reach the full minimum wage.

A quiet restaurant dining room before evening service, with set tables and warm light from the windows
Federal minimum cash wage for tipped employees under the FLSA (2026 (DOL table dated July 1, 2026), U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division)
$2.13
Maximum federal tip credit employers can count toward the $7.25 minimum (2026 (DOL table dated July 1, 2026), U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division)
$5.12
States that require the full state minimum wage before tips (no tip credit) (2026 (DOL table dated July 1, 2026), U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division)
7
States where the tipped cash wage is the federal $2.13 (2026 (DOL table dated July 1, 2026), U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division)
16
Washington's tipped minimum wage, the highest statewide rate (no tip credit) (2026 (DOL table dated July 1, 2026), U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division)
$17.13
Florida tipped cash wage from Sept. 30, 2026 ($15.00 minus $3.02 tip credit) (Sept. 30, 2026 to Dec. 31, 2027, Florida Department of Commerce (FloridaCommerce))
$11.98
Washington, DC base minimum wage for tipped employees (From July 1, 2026, DC Department of Employment Services, Office of Wage and Hour)
$10.30
New York City food service workers' minimum cash wage (tip credit up to $5.65) (Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2026, New York State Department of Labor)
$11.35

If you work for tips, your hourly rate on paper and your real minimum are two different numbers. The state sets a full minimum wage, then decides how much of it your employer can cover with your customers' money. That covered part is the tip credit. What's left is the cash wage your employer pays directly.

The spread between states is wide. A server in Texas can have a cash wage of $2.13. A server in Washington gets $17.13 before a single tip. Most states sit somewhere between, and a few changed their rates partway through 2026, so a number you looked up in January may already be stale.

Highest tipped minimum cash wages by state, 2026 (USD per hour)

Highest tipped minimum cash wages by state, 2026 (USD per hour): Washington $17.13; California $16.90; Oregon (standard) $15.55; Hawaii $14.75; Alaska $14.00; Arizona $12.15; Colorado $12.14; Nevada $12.00; Florida $11.98; Minnesota $11.41; New York City (food service) $11.35; Montana $10.85; District of Columbia $10.30Washington$17.13California$16.90Oregon (standard)$15.55Hawaii$14.75Alaska$14.00Arizona$12.15Colorado$12.14Nevada$12.00Florida$11.98Minnesota$11.41New York City (food servi…$11.35Montana$10.85District of Columbia$10.30
Chart data
LabelValue
Washington$17.13
California$16.90
Oregon (standard)$15.55
Hawaii$14.75
Alaska$14.00
Arizona$12.15
Colorado$12.14
Nevada$12.00
Florida$11.98
Minnesota$11.41
New York City (food service)$11.35
Montana$10.85
District of Columbia$10.30
Washington, California, Oregon, Alaska, Nevada, Minnesota and Montana allow no tip credit, so the cash wage is the full state minimum. Florida rate effective Sept. 30, 2026; DC rate effective July 1, 2026. Montana rate is for businesses with sales over $110,000. Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (Table of Minimum Hourly Wages for Tipped Employees, by State).

Most of the top of this list is made up of states that ban the tip credit outright. Hawaii, Arizona, Colorado and Florida still allow a credit but keep it at about $3 or less, which is why they rank this high. DC and New York City make the list with larger credits because their full minimums are high.

Download this chart (PNG)

Largest maximum tip credits by state, 2026 (USD per hour)

Largest maximum tip credits by state, 2026 (USD per hour): Nebraska $12.87; Delaware $12.77; Rhode Island $12.11; Maryland $11.37; Virginia $10.64; Connecticut (hotel, restaurant) $10.56; New Jersey $9.87; New Mexico $9.00; Arkansas $8.37; Massachusetts $8.25; Michigan $8.24; District of Columbia $8.10Nebraska$12.87Delaware$12.77Rhode Island$12.11Maryland$11.37Virginia$10.64Connecticut (hotel, resta…$10.56New Jersey$9.87New Mexico$9.00Arkansas$8.37Massachusetts$8.25Michigan$8.24District of Columbia$8.10
Chart data
LabelValue
Nebraska$12.87
Delaware$12.77
Rhode Island$12.11
Maryland$11.37
Virginia$10.64
Connecticut (hotel, restaurant)$10.56
New Jersey$9.87
New Mexico$9.00
Arkansas$8.37
Massachusetts$8.25
Michigan$8.24
District of Columbia$8.10
The tip credit is the part of the minimum wage an employer may cover with the employee's tips. Federal maximum: $5.12. Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (Table of Minimum Hourly Wages for Tipped Employees, by State).

A large tip credit means more of the minimum wage depends on customers. Nebraska's credit of $12.87 is more than double the federal maximum of $5.12, even though its cash wage is the federal $2.13.

Download this chart (PNG)

Number of states (incl. DC) by tipped cash wage rule, 2026

Number of states (incl. DC) by tipped cash wage rule, 2026No tip credit (full minimum wage): 7; Cash wage $9.00 or more: 7; Cash wage $2.14 to $8.99: 21; Federal $2.13: 16772116No tip cred…Cash wage $…Cash wage $…Federal $2.…
Chart data
LabelValue
No tip credit (full minimum wage)7
Cash wage $9.00 or more7
Cash wage $2.14 to $8.9921
Federal $2.1316
Counts 50 states plus DC from the DOL table dated July 1, 2026, with Florida, DC and New York checked against state agency notices. New York counted at its food service rates. Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (Table of Minimum Hourly Wages for Tipped Employees, by State); Florida Department of Commerce (FloridaCommerce), Florida's Minimum Wage Updated September 30, 2026; DC Department of Employment Services, Office of Wage and Hour, District of Columbia Minimum Wage Increase (public notice); New York State Department of Labor, Minimum Wage for Tipped Workers 1/1/26-12/31/26 (P717).

The middle group is the biggest, with 21 states paying a cash wage between $2.14 and $8.99. Only 7 states sit in the no-credit tier, the same number that pay $9.00 or more with a credit (counting DC).

Download this chart (PNG)

Florida minimum wage at each Sept. 30 step, 2021 to 2026 (tipped cash wage is this minus $3.02) (USD per hour)

Florida minimum wage at each Sept. 30 step, 2021 to 2026 (tipped cash wage is this minus $3.02)Sept. 2021: $10.00; Sept. 2022: $11.00; Sept. 2023: $12.00; Sept. 2024: $13.00; Sept. 2025: $14.00; Sept. 2026: $15.00$10.00$11.00$12.00$13.00$14.00$15.00Sept. 2021Sept. 2022Sept. 2023Sept. 2024Sept. 2025Sept. 2026
Chart data
LabelValue (USD per hour)
Sept. 2021$10.00
Sept. 2022$11.00
Sept. 2023$12.00
Sept. 2024$13.00
Sept. 2025$14.00
Sept. 2026$15.00
Florida's tipped direct wage equals the state minimum wage minus the 2003 FLSA tip credit of $3.02. Source: Florida Department of Commerce (FloridaCommerce), Florida Minimum Wage History 2000 to 2026; Florida Department of Commerce (FloridaCommerce), Florida's Minimum Wage Updated September 30, 2026.

Since 2022, Florida has raised its minimum by a dollar every Sept. 30, reaching $15.00 in 2026. Because the tip credit stays fixed at $3.02, every step goes straight into the tipped cash wage.

Download this chart (PNG)

New York hospitality industry tipped wage rates, Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2026

Worker typeNYCLong Island and WestchesterRest of New York State
Food service workers: cash wage$11.35$11.35$10.70
Food service workers: tip credit$5.65$5.65$5.30
Service employees: cash wage$14.15$14.15$13.30
Service employees: tip credit$2.85$2.85$2.70
Full minimum wage$17.00$17.00$16.00

Source: New York State Department of Labor, Minimum Wage for Tipped Workers 1/1/26-12/31/26 (P717); U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (Table of Minimum Hourly Wages for Tipped Employees, by State). Download as image

Tipped cash wage changes after Jan. 1, 2026

JurisdictionEffectivePrevious cash wageNew cash wageFull minimum wage
AlaskaJuly 1, 2026$13.00$14.00$14.00 (no tip credit)
District of ColumbiaJuly 1, 2026$10.00$10.30$18.40
FloridaSept. 30, 2026$10.98$11.98$15.00
OregonJuly 1, 2026$15.05 (standard); $16.30 (Portland metro); $14.05 (nonurban counties)$15.55 (standard); $16.80 (Portland metro); $14.55 (nonurban counties)$15.55 (standard); $16.80 (Portland metro); $14.55 (nonurban counties) (no tip credit)

Source: Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Labor Standards and Safety Division, Wage and Hour Administration (minimum wage notice); DC Department of Employment Services, Office of Wage and Hour, District of Columbia Minimum Wage Increase (public notice); Florida Department of Commerce (FloridaCommerce), Florida's Minimum Wage Updated September 30, 2026; Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI), Oregon Minimum Wage Schedule; U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (Table of Minimum Hourly Wages for Tipped Employees, by State). Download as image

Tipped minimum cash wage rule by state

  • 7No tip credit: full minimum wage before tips
  • 7Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or more
  • 21Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99
  • 16Cash wage at the federal $2.13
Tipped minimum cash wage rule. No tip credit: full minimum wage before tips: Alaska, California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington. Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or more: Arizona, Colorado, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, New York. Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99: Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin. Cash wage at the federal $2.13: Alabama, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming.Alabama: Cash wage at the federal $2.13ALAlaska: No tip credit: full minimum wage before tipsAKArizona: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or moreAZArkansas: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99ARCalifornia: No tip credit: full minimum wage before tipsCAColorado: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or moreCOConnecticut: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99CTDelaware: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99DEDistrict of Columbia: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or moreDCFlorida: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or moreFLGeorgia: Cash wage at the federal $2.13GAHawaii: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or moreHIIdaho: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99IDIllinois: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or moreILIndiana: Cash wage at the federal $2.13INIowa: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99IAKansas: Cash wage at the federal $2.13KSKentucky: Cash wage at the federal $2.13KYLouisiana: Cash wage at the federal $2.13LAMaine: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99MEMaryland: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99MDMassachusetts: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99MAMichigan: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99MIMinnesota: No tip credit: full minimum wage before tipsMNMississippi: Cash wage at the federal $2.13MSMissouri: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99MOMontana: No tip credit: full minimum wage before tipsMTNebraska: Cash wage at the federal $2.13NENevada: No tip credit: full minimum wage before tipsNVNew Hampshire: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99NHNew Jersey: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99NJNew Mexico: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99NMNew York: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or moreNYNorth Carolina: Cash wage at the federal $2.13NCNorth Dakota: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99NDOhio: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99OHOklahoma: Cash wage at the federal $2.13OKOregon: No tip credit: full minimum wage before tipsORPennsylvania: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99PARhode Island: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99RISouth Carolina: Cash wage at the federal $2.13SCSouth Dakota: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99SDTennessee: Cash wage at the federal $2.13TNTexas: Cash wage at the federal $2.13TXUtah: Cash wage at the federal $2.13UTVermont: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99VTVirginia: Cash wage at the federal $2.13VAWashington: No tip credit: full minimum wage before tipsWAWest Virginia: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99WVWisconsin: Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.99WIWyoming: Cash wage at the federal $2.13WY
  • No tip credit: full minimum wage before tips7
  • Tip credit allowed, cash wage $9.00 or more7
  • Tip credit allowed, cash wage $2.14 to $8.9921
  • Cash wage at the federal $2.1316
StateMinimum cash wageMaximum tip creditFull minimum wageMonthly tips to count as tippedSource
Alabama$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Alaska$14.00None (tip credit not allowed)$14.00Not applicableU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Arizona$12.15$3.00$15.15Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Arkansas$2.63$8.37$11.00Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
California$16.90None (tip credit not allowed)$16.90Not applicableU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Colorado$12.14$3.02$15.16More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Connecticut$6.38 (hotel, restaurant); $8.23 (bartenders)$10.56 (hotel, restaurant); $8.71 (bartenders)$16.94Not specified (hotel, restaurant)U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Delaware$2.23$12.77$15.00More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
District of Columbia$10.30$8.10$18.40Not specifiedDC Department of Employment Services, District of Columbia Minimum Wage Increase public notice (July 1, 2026)
Florida$11.98$3.02$15.00More than $30FloridaCommerce, Florida's Minimum Wage Updated September 30, 2026
Georgia$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Hawaii$14.75$1.25$16.00Not listedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Idaho$3.35$3.90$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Illinois$9.0040% of the minimum wage ($6.00)$15.00Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Indiana$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Iowa$4.3540% of the minimum wage ($2.90)$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Kansas$2.13$5.12$7.25Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Kentucky$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Louisiana$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Maine$7.5550% of the minimum wage ($7.55)$15.10More than $191U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Maryland$3.63$11.37$15.00More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Massachusetts$6.75$8.25$15.00More than $20U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Michigan$5.49$8.24$13.73Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Minnesota$11.41None (tip credit not allowed)$11.41Not applicableU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Mississippi$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Missouri$7.5050% of the minimum wage ($7.50)$15.00Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Montana$10.85None (tip credit not allowed)$10.85Not applicableU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Nebraska$2.13$12.87$15.00Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Nevada$12.00None (tip credit not allowed)$12.00Not applicableU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
New Hampshire$3.27$3.98$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
New Jersey$6.05$9.87$15.92More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
New Mexico$3.00$9.00$12.00More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
New YorkFood service workers: $11.35 (NYC, LI, Westchester); $10.70 (rest of state)Food service workers: $5.65 (NYC, LI, Westchester); $5.30 (rest of state)$17.00 (NYC, Long Island, Westchester); $16.00 (rest of state)Not specifiedNew York State Department of Labor, Minimum Wage for Tipped Workers 1/1/26-12/31/26 (P717, 12/25)
North Carolina$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $20U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
North Dakota$4.8633% of the minimum wage ($2.39)$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Ohio$5.50$5.50$11.00More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Oklahoma$2.13$5.12$7.25Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Oregon$15.55 (standard); $16.80 (Portland metro); $14.55 (nonurban counties)None (tip credit not allowed)$15.55 (standard); $16.80 (Portland metro); $14.55 (nonurban counties)Not applicableU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Pennsylvania$2.83$4.42$7.25$135 per monthU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Rhode Island$3.89$12.11$16.00More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
South Carolina$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
South Dakota$5.9350% of the minimum wage ($5.92)$11.85More than $35U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Tennessee$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Texas$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $20U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Utah$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Vermont$7.2150% of the minimum wage ($7.21)$14.42More than $120U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Virginia$2.13$10.64$12.77More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Washington$17.13None (tip credit not allowed)$17.13Not applicableU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
West Virginia$2.6270% of the minimum wage ($6.13)$8.75Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Wisconsin$2.33$4.92$7.25Not specifiedU.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)
Wyoming$2.13$5.12$7.25More than $30U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (table dated July 1, 2026)

How does the tip credit actually work?

Think of the minimum wage as a floor your total pay has to reach. In a tip credit state, your employer pays part of that floor in cash and is allowed to count your tips toward the rest. Under federal law the cash part is $2.13 and the credit can be as much as $5.12, which together make the $7.25 federal minimum.

Here's what that looks like in practice. Say you wait tables in Nebraska. Your paycheck rate is $2.13. The other $12.87 of the state's $15.00 minimum is supposed to come from tips. On a slow week when tips fall short, your employer owes you the gap. DC spells this out in its own notice: if tips plus the $10.30 base wage don't reach $18.40, the employer pays the difference.

The credit isn't automatic, either. Employers usually have to tell you in advance that they're taking it. Some states add more steps. North Carolina requires signed tip certifications, and New Jersey attaches advance-notice conditions. Hawaii only allows its small $1.25 credit when wages plus tips come to at least $7.00 more than the minimum.

Which states pay the full minimum wage before tips?

Seven states ban the tip credit: Alaska, California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon and Washington. In those states your tips sit on top of the full minimum wage, not inside it. Washington leads at $17.13, California follows at $16.90, and Oregon's standard rate is $15.55.

Even here the rate can shift with where and for whom you work. Oregon has three tiers: $16.80 in the Portland metro area, $15.55 standard and $14.55 in nonurban counties. Montana's $10.85 applies to businesses with sales over $110,000. In California and Washington, some cities set local minimums higher than the statewide figure, so check your city too.

Why does a $15 minimum wage state still pay servers $2.13?

This trips up a lot of people. A high headline minimum doesn't mean a high tipped wage. Nebraska's minimum is $15.00, yet its tipped cash wage is still $2.13. Virginia's minimum is $12.77 with the same $2.13 cash wage, leaving a tip credit of $10.64. Delaware pays $2.23 in cash against a $15.00 minimum.

So when you compare jobs across state lines, look at the tip credit column, not the minimum wage column. The bigger the credit, the more of your guaranteed pay rides on how busy the room is. Nebraska, Delaware and Rhode Island all allow credits above $12, while the federal cap is $5.12.

Size and type of business can matter as well. Ohio's tipped rates apply to employers with gross receipts of $405,000 or more. West Virginia's law covers employers with six or more employees. In Wisconsin, tipped opportunity employees under 20 can be paid $2.13 in cash during their first 90 days.

What changed for tipped workers in 2026?

Several rates moved after January. Florida's cash wage went from $10.98 to $11.98 on Sept. 30, 2026, because its full minimum rose to $15.00 and the $3.02 credit stayed put. Alaska went from $13.00 to $14.00 on July 1. DC's base wage rose from $10.00 to $10.30 the same day, with the full minimum at $18.40. Oregon raised all three of its tiers on July 1 as well.

New York splits workers by job type. Food service workers in New York City, Long Island and Westchester get a cash wage of $11.35, against $10.70 in the rest of the state. Service employees get more cash and a smaller credit: $14.15 downstate and $13.30 elsewhere. Those rates run Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2026.

Michigan is mid-transition. Its tipped cash wage, now $5.49, rises each year until it reaches 50% of the state minimum in 2031, and the state minimum itself goes to $15.00 on Jan. 1, 2027.

What to do if you work for tips or hire tipped staff

For workers, the most useful habit is simple: write down your tips every shift. If your employer's records and yours don't match on a slow week, your own log is evidence. Read the offer letter, too. It should say your cash wage and whether the employer takes a tip credit.

  • Check that the cash wage in your offer matches your state's rate for 2026, and your city's if it has its own.
  • Ask whether there's a tip pool, who shares in it and whether managers take a cut. Under federal law, employers and managers can't keep employees' tips.
  • Look for deductions from tips, such as card processing fees, breakage or uniforms, and check them against your state's wage deduction rules.
  • If you run a restaurant or salon, give the required tip credit notice before you take the credit. Put it in writing even where a verbal notice is allowed, and keep a copy on file.
  • Track each pay period to make sure tips plus cash wage reach the full minimum, and pay the shortfall when they don't.
  • Recheck rates when a state changes mid-year. Florida, Alaska, Oregon and DC all did in 2026.

Does any of this apply to freelancers and gig workers?

The tip credit is an employee rule. If you're truly self-employed, say a freelance bartender who books private events and sets your own rate, there's no tipped minimum wage at all. You get what your contract says.

The catch is labels. A restaurant can't skip the minimum by calling servers independent contractors when it sets their schedules and tells them how to work. If you're in that spot, you may be misclassified, which can mean back pay for every shift paid below the floor. Read the agreement closely before you sign anything that calls you a contractor. Look at who sets your hours, who sets prices and who supplies the equipment. If the answer to all three is the restaurant, the contractor label probably won't hold up.

How ClauseAudit helps

Tipped jobs often come with a short offer letter and a long handbook, and the terms that decide your pay are easy to miss. An automated review of your employment contract pulls out the pay clauses and explains them in plain English.

Upload the offer or agreement and you'll see which terms to question before your first shift.

  • Cash wage and whether the employer claims a tip credit
  • Tip pool and tip sharing terms, including who takes part
  • Deductions from wages or tips, such as card fees and uniforms
  • Pay frequency and how tip shortfalls get made up
  • Mandatory arbitration and class action waivers that limit wage claims
  • At-will terms and any promises about hours or shifts
Review an employment contract

Frequently asked questions

What is the federal tipped minimum wage in 2026?

The federal cash wage for tipped employees is $2.13 an hour. Employers can count up to $5.12 of tips toward the $7.25 federal minimum. Federal rules treat you as a tipped employee if you customarily get more than $30 a month in tips. Your state may require more, and where it does, the higher rate applies.

Which states don't allow a tip credit?

Seven states: Alaska, California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon and Washington. Employers there must pay tipped workers the full state minimum wage before tips. Your tips are extra, on top of that floor. In Montana, the $10.85 rate applies to businesses with sales over $110,000.

Which state has the highest tipped minimum wage?

Washington, at $17.13 an hour, since it allows no tip credit. California is next at $16.90, then Oregon's standard rate of $15.55. Among states that do allow a tip credit, Hawaii pays the most cash at $14.75. Some cities set higher local minimums than these statewide figures.

What happens if my tips don't add up to minimum wage?

Your employer has to make up the difference. The tip credit only works if your cash wage plus tips reach the full minimum. DC's notice puts it plainly: if tips plus the $10.30 base wage don't reach $18.40, the employer pays the rest. Keep your own record of tips each shift in case there's a dispute.

What is Florida's tipped minimum wage in 2026?

From Sept. 30, 2026, Florida's tipped cash wage is $11.98 an hour, up from $10.98. That's the state's $15.00 minimum minus a fixed $3.02 tip credit. Since the credit doesn't change, each rise in Florida's minimum goes straight into the tipped cash wage.

What is the tipped minimum wage in New York?

For 2026, food service workers in New York City, Long Island and Westchester get a cash wage of $11.35 with a tip credit of up to $5.65. In the rest of the state it's $10.70 and $5.30. Service employees get more cash: $14.15 downstate and $13.30 elsewhere.

How much in tips makes you a tipped employee?

Under federal law, more than $30 a month in tips. States set their own lines. Massachusetts, North Carolina and Texas use more than $20, South Dakota more than $35, Vermont more than $120, Pennsylvania $135 a month and Maine more than $191. In states with no tip credit, the threshold doesn't apply.

Can my employer keep part of my tips?

Under federal law, employers, managers and supervisors can't keep employees' tips, whether or not the employer takes a tip credit. Tip pools among eligible workers can be allowed, but the rules depend on your state. If you see deductions from tips on your pay stub, ask what they are for and check your state's wage deduction rules.

Use this data

Every chart and card below is free to reuse under CC BY 4.0. Download what you need and link back to this page.

Embed the infographic

Free to share on your site, blog or slides under CC BY 4.0. Please keep the credit link.

Tipped Minimum Wage by State (2026): Cash Wage and Maximum Tip Credit
Download PNG

Sources and method

Every number on this page comes from the sources below, each opened and read on or before October 18, 2026. A second, independent review checked every figure against its source and corrected anything that did not match. 51 of 51 state entries were confirmed; any that could not be are marked "Not yet confirmed" and left out of every count and chart.

  1. U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (Table of Minimum Hourly Wages for Tipped Employees, by State) (July 1, 2026 (last revised July 1, 2026))
  2. Florida Department of Commerce (FloridaCommerce), Florida's Minimum Wage Updated September 30, 2026 (September 2026)
  3. Florida Department of Commerce (FloridaCommerce), Florida Minimum Wage History 2000 to 2026 (September 2026)
  4. DC Department of Employment Services, Office of Wage and Hour, District of Columbia Minimum Wage Increase (public notice) (2026 notice, rates effective July 1, 2026)
  5. New York State Department of Labor, Minimum Wage for Tipped Workers 1/1/26-12/31/26 (P717) (P717 (12/25), rates for Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2026)
  6. Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Labor Standards and Safety Division, Wage and Hour Administration (minimum wage notice) (Accessed 2026-10-18; notice of July 1, 2026 increase)
  7. Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI), Oregon Minimum Wage Schedule (Accessed 2026-10-18; rates July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027)

Cite this page

ClauseAudit, “Tipped Minimum Wage by State (2026): Cash Wage and Maximum Tip Credit”, updated October 18, 2026, https://clauseaudit.com/data/tipped-minimum-wage-by-state. Free to reuse with a link back (CC BY 4.0).

This page summarises published data and law as checked on October 18, 2026. Figures are updated as new editions are released, and your own situation may differ. It is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.